How to recover files on the S-drive

Inside the Shared Drive we have implemented 2 features: the snapshot and recycle folders.
This article explains what these do and how you can use them.

These files are set to hidden by default for users on Windows.
You can make them visible by navigating to View and checking the Hidden Items.

 

What is the snapshot folder?

We keep a complete backup of the S-drive for 7 days and store it in the snapshot folder. For example: you have a corrupted file, and you want to restore it with a previous version from 2 days ago, you can do it through this feature. This is a rolling system and contains only the changes. The extra space that will be occupied on the S-drive for the snapshots is the total of the changes during the last 7 days.

There are 2 different ways to retrieve your data:

  • Navigate to the snapshot folder and choose the desired date of the snapshot you need
    Here you will find all the folders and files from that day.
    You select the file, copy it and paste it into the current S-drive.
    Note that the Snapshot folder is read only and can’t be written to.

  • The second way is to right-click on the desired file or map within the S-drive and select “restore previous versions”.

  • Here you will be able to choose between the file/map versions of the past 7 days that are stored in the snapshot folder and replace the current file with them.

What is the recycle folder?

The recycle folder has the function of keeping a back up of the deleted files inside the shared drive. These are kept in the recycle folder for 30 days. Unlike the snapshot folder, this folder is not a read-only folder, allowing you to manually delete the files if necessary. 

For example: you accidentally delete a file on the shared drive.
This feature allows you to retrieve it just by navigating to the recycle folder and copy/cut the file.
The folder only appears after you deleted the first file.
*Note: files that are only 0 bytes in size and (tmp/temp/lock) files are not kept in recycle but directly deleted .

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles