How do I deploy a Desktop/Workstation

To deploy a desktop to your user, you need at least one desktop type deployed with at least a capacity set to one. In this short how-to, we explain the steps you (or your admin) need(s) to take.

Blueprints

First, navigate to Blueprints in the menu on your left. Then, choose your desired blueprint by selecting the appropriate arrow. By clicking the “download” icon the pop-up with parameters will appear.

After selecting the specific Blueprint, you’ll get a dialog asking you some details. You will be able to choose the capacity, the amount of desktops you need. Next is the ability to deploy the blueprint for the whole company or if it has to be deployed for a specific project.

Last is the usage type. Click “OK” to start the deploy. The parameters are explained more in detail below.

Parameters

Capacity: This is the amount of desktops you want to deploy. For instance, if you have only 1 user, you leave this at one. When you want to deploy this desktop to 5 users, you choose 5.

Project: For Enterprise subscription, you’ll have the possibility to create projects. Choose the one necessary, to make sure the Blueprint is deployed and available in the corresponding project.

Usage Type: You can choose between Month and Hour. For more information on both billing models, click here.

Depending on the usage type you choose, you’ll get different cost details.

Legend

Usage Type Hour:

Deploy Desktop – Choose Capacity & Usage Type Hour

  • Fixed Cost: the subscription for every starting month where you have the desktop capacity deployed. It’s calculated times the capacity and it depends on the type of subscription. (for instance: 3 capacity x 29,99 subscription credits = 89.97 credits)
  • Usage Cost: the credits we calculate for every started hour. Depends on the desktop type. See the prices.
  • Total Cost: this is the minimum amount of credits that will be charged. For every hour the Usage Cost will be added. To keep your cost at a minimum, you can choose to stop the desktop after your workday, while maintaining all stored data. The next day, you can simply start the desktop again.
  • Available Credits: the credits available in your wallet. If you have insufficient credits, you will be asked to first add credits to your wallet.

Usage Type Month:

  • Fixed Cost: the subscription for every starting month where you have the desktop capacity deployed. It’s calculated times the capacity and it depends on the type of subscription. (for instance: 3 capacity x 29,99 subscription credits = 89.97 credits)
  • Usage Cost: the credits we calculate for every started month. Depends on the desktop type. See the prices.
  • Total Cost: This totals the fixed cost and the usage cost. Because you choose a monthly usage, you can keep the desktop online 24/7. The cost will always be the same.
  • Available Credits: the credits available in your wallet. If you have insufficient credits, you will be asked to first add credits to your wallet.

Blueprint details

Once you clicked “OK” the deploy will start. First of all it will give a notification that the initial creation has been successful. Please note that there are still processes running in the background. The first time a blueprint gets deployed it takes some time. As long as jobs are running it is not possible to change parameters or assign a desktop to a user.

When the Blueprint is deployed, you can see the details by selecting the Blueprint. You’ll get an overview of all your deployed Blueprints. In this case you can see an orange dot in front of the deploy. This means processes are still running and the blueprint can’t be assigned yet.

Legend:

  • Persistence Type: This is, for now, only Static (or persistent). For a non-persistent desktop we ask you to contact Sales. A persistent desktop is linked one on one. One user gets one specific desktop, where the users data and settings can stay (like a normal personal computer). A non-persistent desktop is not linked one on one. Meaning, you can have a set of users and a set amount of capacity. Where one user gets the first desktop that is available. The user can get another desktop in a next session. And the desktop is always cleaned after the session.
  • Renewal on: this is the moment your monthly subscription will be renewed for this deployed Blueprint.
  • Capacity: the first number represents how many desktops are actually assigned to a user. The second number represents the capacity you have chosen.

By clicking the deploy you can get additional functions and information. One of the most important functions is the auto-shutdown function. You can activate this and lock this for all the users using this specific blueprint.

To get an extensive explanation on what the auto-shutdown function is and the different ways this can be activated/used you can take a look at this document in our FAQ.

To see the status of the running processes you can navigate to “jobs”.

Once the jobs are done you should see the following screen.

And of course the blueprint will show a green dot, the blueprint can now be assigned to any user in the company/project.

Now, how can you assign this deployed Blueprint to a specific user? Have a look here.

Was this article helpful?

Related Articles